Wink Poppy Midnight Review & Giveaway!

Spoiler alert: Wink Poppy Midnight is one of my top reads for 2017! So I have decided that I want to share more than just my thoughts on this beautiful story full of mystery and magical realism. I am going to ship a copy to one lucky winner. See the details following my review below πŸ™‚

25810465

The Book

Wink Poppy Midnight
By April Genevieve Tucholke
Publisher: Dial Books
ISBN13: 9780803740488
Pages: 247
Genre: Magical Realism/YA Mystery

Synopsis:

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.


thoughts

Wink Poppy Midnight was a huge and unexpected win for myself this year. Within a matter of mere pages, this odd and compelling story found its way into my heart and made a lasting impression. Teeming magical realism and elegance that is shrouded in mystery, I easily surrendered to an experience incomparable to any I have encountered in recent reads.

Warranting the reader’s own personal exploration as it promises to provide a very unique and individualized experience, I find myself struggling to sum up Wink Poppy Midnight in one small review.Β Told through 3 alternating perspectives,Β Tucholke weaves a tale that borders the insane, yet invites the reader further in with a mystifying sense of comfort. Β Each chapter serves a slice of one character’s part in what quickly becomes a Β fantastic story of youth, love and revenge.

β€œRevenge. Justice. Love. They are the three stories that all other stories are made up of. It’s the trifecta.” 

Character development unfolds in a slow and steady process that contributes to the obscurity and mystery of the story. I feel that discovery is key to success here, so I will not be divulging too many details or opinions in terms of Midnight, Wink or Poppy or their story. They are young and full of intrigue but not without faults. I found it easy to appreciate the author’s manipulation of their growth to aid her story.

The world that is established relies on Tucholke’s descriptive and atmospheric writing. She turns the very normal into something enigmatic. Set within a small town and its traditional country side, the reader is drawn into a reverie that feels reminiscent of a summertime daydream.

β€œLeaf once told me that there was absolutely no difference between the Orphans’ fairy tales and the nose on my face, because both were only as real as I thought they were.” 

The writing is simple yet strangely intoxicating. An air of whimsy veiled in the unknown draws the reader in, creating an almost otherworldly experience. The author’s ability to center a mystery around a love triangle and have it feel like anything but is a testament to Wink Poppy Midnight’s worth.

Fans of Bone Gap and Vassa in the NightΒ will most likely devour this one.The end result is fully engaging, calling upon the reader’s senses and offering something surreal and new. I would highly recommend this to fans of the unconventional and magical realism.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Learn more about the author atΒ apriltucholke.com.

Purchase Links:

Amazon USΒ Β Amazon UKΒ Β Book Depository


giveaway

I will be shipping one copy of Wink Poppy Midnight to one lucky winner! This one is open internationally if Book Depository delivers to you. If the selected winner is located within the US, shipping will be through Amazon. Enter via the link below and have fun!

Please remember:

  • Must be 18 yr of age to enter.
  • This giveaway is not affiliated with the author, publisher or shipper.
  • The winner will be announced on social media and the blog.
  • You must be a follower of the blog to be selected (I will verify this).
  • The drawing will be held on 9/24/17.

Win A Copy of Wink Poppy Midnight

Connect With Me:Β Facebook,Β Twitter,Β TumblrΒ andΒ Instagram

Buy Me A Tea

57 thoughts on “Wink Poppy Midnight Review & Giveaway!

  1. I hadn’t heard of this book this morning now you are the second person to post about it today! This is a stunning review and as always I take your reviews under advisement and will be popping this right onto my TBR!

    Like

  2. Wonderful review Danielle! I had no idea Wink Poppy Midnight had elements of Magical Realism which I’m a total sucker for πŸ˜‚ def boosting up on my TBR. I’m so glad you enjoyed it because I had at one point removed it after reading some mixed reviews but I should’ve kept it. I’m a fan of all that is mysterious & asks that the reader suspend belief πŸ™ŒπŸΌ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I read through a ton of the reviews and had a hard time agreeing with them. For myself, I found this one completely absorbing. I noticed a lot of complaints that the narration was confusing, but even though it is 3 PoV, it is broken down by chapter and clearly labeled, so I did not encounter any issues. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your review has me wanting to read this, but I hope it isn’t too similar in writing to Bone Gap. Not the story, but the writing was off for me. I still haven’t read Vassa In the Night. It is still sitting on my bookshelf. I don’t feel bad though because that was a book they sent instead of the one I requested. Ha!

    Gleam always tells me that I have already entered every contest. I have no clue why. CD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmm not sure about Gleam. This is my first time using it. Maybe I will have to switch back to Rafflecopter if the issue persists.

      I think my recommendation based on Bone Gap fans is more about story than narration (so you should be safe πŸ˜‰ ). Although I admit, I enjoyed the writing in Bone Gap. Vassa was a huge hit with me and seems to have disappointed many others. I have a soft spot for eccentricity and it worked well for myself. I hope you will enjoy it when the time comes.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Eeeek! This book has been on my radar since you did a spotlight for this book… I think it was you! πŸ™‚ It sounds like a good one and your review has made me want to read it even more.
    Thank you tons for the giveaway… here we all are fingers crossed… πŸ™‚
    Vassa In the Night is another one I have yet to read.. anyway, if I start listing all the books I still have to catch up on, we’re going to be here a whole freaking night! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Whoa!!! I must admit, I was not expecting such high praise since this book had such mixed reviews when it came out. I am very intrigued now… which is why I’ll be entering the giveaway of course lol

    I read a YA magic realism book recently called The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender… I think you might like it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. WAIT! THis is Magical Realism?! I MUST READ IT IMMEDIATELY.
    … I am calm…

    I can completely understand how you might struggle to write a review for this book! It sounds so complex to begin with and you also have all sorts of hyped up emotions attached to it, too. I haven’t read Bone Gap or Vassa, but both are on my TBR. I’ve heard they are both a bit unconventional. I’m all about it! I don’t think we have enough surreal magical realism popping up in literature now-a-days. Bring it on!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Such a poetic and wonderful review, Danielle! Love how you wrote this one while keeping the suspense super high! An author who can make love triangles work is definitely someone to praise hahah Fantastic!! Fantastic!! πŸ˜› So kind to host a giveaway and making the book sound so delicious! Eviiiil! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bahahaha πŸ˜‰ Thanks Lashaan. I loved this book with all of my bookish heart. I read a lot of reviews claiming it was confusing, but I am not sure why. I know alternating PoV is not for everyone, but it worked well here and was clearly established. The magical realism was spot on!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s