Wink Poppy Midnight Giveaway Winner!

Thrilled to announce the winner of my recent Wink Poppy Midnight giveaway. A special thank you to everyone for sharing the review and giveaway! The lucky recipient of one copy of Wink Poppy Midnight is..

Wink Poppy Midnight Giveaway Winner (2).png

Megan has beautiful Instagram and social media accounts and can be found reviewing and sharing bookish thoughts at wanderingsofabookbird.blogspot.com. Congratulations Megan, I will be sending an email to collect the necessary details to ship your book ❤

Thank you again everyone, for helping make this giveaway a lot of fun!

Happy Reading!

Danielle ❤

Connect With Books, Vertigo and Tea: FacebookTwitterTumblr and Instagram

 

Unexpected Outcomes by Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

Book Excerpt

I am pleased to feature Carolyn Ridder Aspenson’s upcoming title; Unexpected Outcomes. Today I have an excerpt of Chapter 1 and a generous giveaway hosted by the author. Unexpected Outcomes is scheduled for release on 9/19/17 and is the 4th book in the Angela Panther Mystery series. Stick around for a chance to win a set of ebooks!

Unexpected Outcomes
Unexpected Outcomes 
By Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

Synopsis:

Unexpected Outcomes An Angela Panther Mystery is the 4th book in the Angela Panther paranormal Mystery series.

Angela is a stay at home mom who just happens to be a psychic medium. Join Angela, her dead mother Fran, and her best friend, Mel as they help Atlanta are detective Aaron Banner solve crimes and cross over spirits in this women’s sleuth mystery.

LIES, SECRETS AND THE ULTIMATE BETRAYAL.

When a frantic 911 call stumps a suburban Atlanta police department, psychic medium Angela Panther is asked to help. Without a body or a ransom note, the cops question whether there’s even a crime, but Angela’s certain the woman’s no longer among the living.

On the outside, the woman’s family seems run of the mill, but Angela’s sixth sense tells her something different, she just has to find the evidence—and the victim’s remains, to prove it.

With the help of her best friend, Mel, and Fran, her celestial super sleuth mother, she sets out to find it and stumbles into a web of dark, dangerous family secrets worse than she ever imagined.

When a desperate spirit forces Angela to act on impulse, she makes one wrong move and lands right in the path of the killer. Alone, and begging for her life, Angela realizes she might not make it out alive.

This book is the 4th in the series but as with all the others, can be read as a stand-alone.


Chapter One Excerpt

“I CAN’T BELIEVE I’m gonna die. Please, no. Why are you shooting at us?”

I pulled the trigger and watched as the bullet raced through the air, smacking my best friend in the center of her chest.

I bolted upright; sweat dripping from my forehead, tears streaming down my cheeks, my heart beating faster than ever. I’d just dreamed I’d shot my best friend, my best friend. I mumbled under my breath. It’s just a dream, just a dream.

My husband Jake rolled over and rubbed my leg. “You okay, babe?”

I lay down and snuggled into him. “Another nightmare. I shot Mel.”

He wrapped his arms around me and squeezed. “We both know that would never happen. It was just a dream. Don’t let it upset you.”

I glanced at the clock. It was four AM, and I knew I wouldn’t fall back asleep, so I kissed Jake and got up for the day, resigned to the fact that I’d be exhausted before nightfall. I shuffled to the bathroom, closed the double doors, and flipped on the light. My eyes sunk like anchors in the blue and black pits swelling below them. Sleep eluded me most nights, and the nights I did catch a few z’s contained restless and fitful slumber, and it showed.

Downstairs, I made a fresh pot of coffee, and while waiting for it to finish, replayed the dream in my head. Nothing was clear except Mel. Fuzzy images of gravel and trees flashed briefly in my head, but their pictures remained too blurred and indistinct to identify with any clarity. My gift allowed me to communicate with the dead, not predict the future, and half of me thought the dream meant nothing. The other half though, threw red flags up all over the kitchen, practically screaming “Danger, Will Robinson”, like that old TV show. That half knew the Universe didn’t have a rulebook, and the fear of what it could mean crushed my heart like a ton of bricks. Six months ago I couldn’t feel what a ghost felt, but that had changed, so I knew endless possibilities existed, and that scared the bejesus out of me. I powered on my phone and pounded out a text to Mel.

“I had a bad dream,” I wrote.

It didn’t take long for her to respond. That’s how best friends worked. No matter what time it was, they were there when we needed them. “Wow, me too. It was so strange. I shot you.”

My heart raced into the anaerobic zone. I snatched my keys from the key box, slipped on my tennis shoes and bolted out the door and into my car in the garage. Both of us having the same dream wasn’t a coincidence. It meant something, and I didn’t need my spidey sense to tell me that.  Continue reading “Unexpected Outcomes by Carolyn Ridder Aspenson”

Wink Poppy Midnight Review & Giveaway!

Spoiler alert: Wink Poppy Midnight is one of my top reads for 2017! So I have decided that I want to share more than just my thoughts on this beautiful story full of mystery and magical realism. I am going to ship a copy to one lucky winner. See the details following my review below 🙂

25810465

The Book

Wink Poppy Midnight
By April Genevieve Tucholke
Publisher: Dial Books
ISBN13: 9780803740488
Pages: 247
Genre: Magical Realism/YA Mystery

Synopsis:

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.


thoughts

Wink Poppy Midnight was a huge and unexpected win for myself this year. Within a matter of mere pages, this odd and compelling story found its way into my heart and made a lasting impression. Teeming magical realism and elegance that is shrouded in mystery, I easily surrendered to an experience incomparable to any I have encountered in recent reads.

Warranting the reader’s own personal exploration as it promises to provide a very unique and individualized experience, I find myself struggling to sum up Wink Poppy Midnight in one small review. Told through 3 alternating perspectives, Tucholke weaves a tale that borders the insane, yet invites the reader further in with a mystifying sense of comfort.  Each chapter serves a slice of one character’s part in what quickly becomes a  fantastic story of youth, love and revenge.

“Revenge. Justice. Love. They are the three stories that all other stories are made up of. It’s the trifecta.” 

Character development unfolds in a slow and steady process that contributes to the obscurity and mystery of the story. I feel that discovery is key to success here, so I will not be divulging too many details or opinions in terms of Midnight, Wink or Poppy or their story. They are young and full of intrigue but not without faults. I found it easy to appreciate the author’s manipulation of their growth to aid her story.

The world that is established relies on Tucholke’s descriptive and atmospheric writing. She turns the very normal into something enigmatic. Set within a small town and its traditional country side, the reader is drawn into a reverie that feels reminiscent of a summertime daydream.

“Leaf once told me that there was absolutely no difference between the Orphans’ fairy tales and the nose on my face, because both were only as real as I thought they were.” 

The writing is simple yet strangely intoxicating. An air of whimsy veiled in the unknown draws the reader in, creating an almost otherworldly experience. The author’s ability to center a mystery around a love triangle and have it feel like anything but is a testament to Wink Poppy Midnight’s worth.

Fans of Bone Gap and Vassa in the Night will most likely devour this one.The end result is fully engaging, calling upon the reader’s senses and offering something surreal and new. I would highly recommend this to fans of the unconventional and magical realism.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Learn more about the author at apriltucholke.com.

Purchase Links:

Amazon US  Amazon UK  Book Depository


giveaway

I will be shipping one copy of Wink Poppy Midnight to one lucky winner! This one is open internationally if Book Depository delivers to you. If the selected winner is located within the US, shipping will be through Amazon. Enter via the link below and have fun!

Please remember:

  • Must be 18 yr of age to enter.
  • This giveaway is not affiliated with the author, publisher or shipper.
  • The winner will be announced on social media and the blog.
  • You must be a follower of the blog to be selected (I will verify this).
  • The drawing will be held on 9/24/17.

Win A Copy of Wink Poppy Midnight

Connect With Me: FacebookTwitterTumblr and Instagram

Buy Me A Tea