Wink Poppy Midnight Review & Giveaway!

Spoiler alert: Wink Poppy Midnight is one of my top reads for 2017! So I have decided that I want to share more than just my thoughts on this beautiful story full of mystery and magical realism. I am going to ship a copy to one lucky winner. See the details following my review below 🙂

25810465

The Book

Wink Poppy Midnight
By April Genevieve Tucholke
Publisher: Dial Books
ISBN13: 9780803740488
Pages: 247
Genre: Magical Realism/YA Mystery

Synopsis:

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.


thoughts

Wink Poppy Midnight was a huge and unexpected win for myself this year. Within a matter of mere pages, this odd and compelling story found its way into my heart and made a lasting impression. Teeming magical realism and elegance that is shrouded in mystery, I easily surrendered to an experience incomparable to any I have encountered in recent reads.

Warranting the reader’s own personal exploration as it promises to provide a very unique and individualized experience, I find myself struggling to sum up Wink Poppy Midnight in one small review. Told through 3 alternating perspectives, Tucholke weaves a tale that borders the insane, yet invites the reader further in with a mystifying sense of comfort.  Each chapter serves a slice of one character’s part in what quickly becomes a  fantastic story of youth, love and revenge.

“Revenge. Justice. Love. They are the three stories that all other stories are made up of. It’s the trifecta.” 

Character development unfolds in a slow and steady process that contributes to the obscurity and mystery of the story. I feel that discovery is key to success here, so I will not be divulging too many details or opinions in terms of Midnight, Wink or Poppy or their story. They are young and full of intrigue but not without faults. I found it easy to appreciate the author’s manipulation of their growth to aid her story.

The world that is established relies on Tucholke’s descriptive and atmospheric writing. She turns the very normal into something enigmatic. Set within a small town and its traditional country side, the reader is drawn into a reverie that feels reminiscent of a summertime daydream.

“Leaf once told me that there was absolutely no difference between the Orphans’ fairy tales and the nose on my face, because both were only as real as I thought they were.” 

The writing is simple yet strangely intoxicating. An air of whimsy veiled in the unknown draws the reader in, creating an almost otherworldly experience. The author’s ability to center a mystery around a love triangle and have it feel like anything but is a testament to Wink Poppy Midnight’s worth.

Fans of Bone Gap and Vassa in the Night will most likely devour this one.The end result is fully engaging, calling upon the reader’s senses and offering something surreal and new. I would highly recommend this to fans of the unconventional and magical realism.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Learn more about the author at apriltucholke.com.

Purchase Links:

Amazon US  Amazon UK  Book Depository


giveaway

I will be shipping one copy of Wink Poppy Midnight to one lucky winner! This one is open internationally if Book Depository delivers to you. If the selected winner is located within the US, shipping will be through Amazon. Enter via the link below and have fun!

Please remember:

  • Must be 18 yr of age to enter.
  • This giveaway is not affiliated with the author, publisher or shipper.
  • The winner will be announced on social media and the blog.
  • You must be a follower of the blog to be selected (I will verify this).
  • The drawing will be held on 9/24/17.

Win A Copy of Wink Poppy Midnight

Connect With Me: FacebookTwitterTumblr and Instagram

Buy Me A Tea

Goodreads Monday ~ Wink Poppy Midnight

Goodreads Monday

Goodreads Monday  is a weekly meme hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners. To participate, you simply choose a random book from your TBR and show it off. Don’t forget to check out her blog and link back to Lauren’s Page Turners and add your own links!

My (Not so) Random Pick

25810465
Wink Poppy Midnight

By April Genevieve Tucholke
Publisher: Dial Books
Kindle ASIN: B010N18IEU
Pages: 352
Genre: YA Mystery/Magical Realism

Synopsis:

The intrigue of The Virgin Suicides and the “supernatural or not” question of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer coalesce in this young adult mystery, where nothing is quite as it seems, no one is quite who you think, and everything can change on a dime.

 

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.

For fans of Holly Black, We Were Liars, and The Raven Boys, this mysterious tale full of intrigue, dread, beauty, and a whiff of something strange will leave you utterly entranced.

So this week I am actually featuring a title I just started reading. I had decided earlier in the week that I wanted to feature this one and the last night actually purchased a copy and dove in. I am head over heels with the writing and cannot wait to see how this ends. Have you read Wink Poppy Midnight or any of April Genevieve Tucholke’s works? What are you reading at the moment?

Happy Reading!

Connect With Books, Vertigo and Tea: Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr and Instagram

Buy Me A Tea

Goodreads Monday ~ A Million Junes

Goodreads Monday

Goodreads Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners. To participate, you simply choose a random book from your TBR and show it off. Don’t forget to check out her blog and link back to Lauren’s Page Turners and add your own links!

My Random Pick

30763950.jpg
A Million Junes
By Emily Henry
Publisher: Razorbill
ISBN13: 9780448493961
Pages: 350
Genre: Magical Realism

Synopsis:

For as long as Jack “June” O’Donnell has been alive, her parents have had only one rule: stay away from the Angert family. But when June collides—quite literally—with Saul Angert, sparks fly, and everything June has known is thrown into chaos.

Who exactly is this gruff, sarcastic, but seemingly harmless boy who has returned to their hometown of Five Fingers, Michigan, after three mysterious years away? And why has June—an O’Donnell to her core—never questioned her late father’s deep hatred of the Angert family? After all, the O’Donnells and the Angerts may have mythic legacies, but for all the tall tales they weave, both founding families are tight-lipped about what caused the century-old rift between them.

As Saul and June’s connection grows deeper, they find that the magic, ghosts, and coywolves of Five Fingers seem to be conspiring to reveal the truth about the harrowing curse that has plagued their bloodlines for generations. Now June must question everything she knows about her family and the father she adored, and she must decide whether it’s finally time for her—and all the O’Donnells before her—to let go.

I just received this title last week as part of my BOTM subscription. I am excited to explore something a little different. I am also looking forward to the magical realism element. Have you read this or would you?

Happy Monday!

Connect With Books, Vertigo and Tea: Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr and Instagram

Buy Me A Tea